Skip to Main Content

Student Guide to Erwin Library: Find Journal Articles

Erwin Library Journals

How do I find Scholarly Articles I can use for my research?

WCC SIngle Search - this discovery services also includes a Publication Title Seach, with access to scholarly journals in a variety of databases; you may: 

  • Search for journal articles  to complete a research project using the WCC Single Search box and a topic or keyword search  
  • Browse issues of a specific journal, using the Publication Title Search box to find all available online issues of that title

General Reference Databases - Other Library subscription databases: many of these are general reference resources, including reference book articles, dictionaries, maps, statistical resources, and articles from subject focused databases

Can't Find It?  We"ll Try Another Library for You!

Even though a journal article is not available in any of the Erwin Library databases, you may request that it be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. 

You may place your request either in‐person at the Erwin Circulation Desk, by telephone (919.739.6891), or by submitting an online request from the Interlibrary Loan link on the library’s webpage.

See the Recognize Scholarly Articles page of the Research Guide for simple ways to identify an article as scholarly (or not).

Find Journal Articles in Erwin Databases

WCC Single Search

Find articles using the WCC Single Search discovery service on the Erwin Library website:

  • Enter a Keyword, Title, or Author search term into the  WCC Single Search box; for a Keyword search you may use a single word, phrase, or a combination of search terms, in this example "mark twain" and click the Search button

  • Have your Erwin Library barcode number ready to use as a login at the Remote User Access page prompt if you are using a computer outside of the library

  • Use Refine Results options (in this example the Limit To option group) on the left side of a Search Results List page to focus your search on journal articles, rather than newspapers, ebooks, or videos:
    • Click the Full-Text checkbox to eliminate abstract-only entries
    • Click the Scholarly/Peer Reviewed checkbox if you need to limit your search results to peer-reviewed journals
  • View articles from Search Results list entries:
    • Click the Full Text from ProQuest, PDF Full Text, JSTOR Full Text or Full Text Finder link below any entry to open a full-text viewing window for that article
    • Or, click the orange article Title to open a Detailed Record giving author, abstract and other publication facts

  • Permalink the article to access it again later:
    • Locate the Details area on the Abstract/Details page
    • Scroll down to the bottom of the page 
    • In the Document URL field highlight, then Copy the URL to use as a Permalink

​

  • Cite the article in your Works Cited, References or Biblography page:
    • Click the Cite icon on the page above the article 
    • To open a Cite box

​

  • Choose your Citation Style from the drop-down menu
  • Highlight and Copy the citation