Skip to Main Content

Nursing Education and Career Development: eBooks

eBook Databases

WCC Single Search - this discovery service, which also includes a Publication Title Search, offers access to thousands of Allied Health related ebooks:

  • Search for eBook content to complete a research project using the WCC Bison Single Search box and a topic or keyword search  
  • Find an eBook by title or a simple topic search using the Publication Title Search box (See this Guide's Publication Title Search eBooks page)

STAT!Ref - provides access to:

Stat!Ref Selected eBooks

Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications

Leeuwen, Anne M. Van and Mickey Lynn Bladh. Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications.   10th ed.  Philadelphia, Pa.: F.A. Davis, 2023. STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library.

Lippincott Nursing Procedures

Lippincott Williams and Wilkins.  Lippincott Nursing Procedures.  9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.:  Wolters Kluwer, 2023.  STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library.

WCC Single Search eBooks

WCC Single Search

To find an eBook by Keyword (or topic) on the Erwin Library website:

  • Enter a Keyword search term (single word or phrase) with no punctuation into the WCC Single Search box, in this example "hematology" and click the Search button

  • Have your Erwin Library barcode number ready to use as a login at the Remote User Access page prompt if you are using a computer outside of the library

  • Confine your Search Results list to eBooks using Refine Results menu options:
    • Click the Show More link at the bottom of the Source Types menu to open a Source Types menu box, click inside the eBooks checkbox, then the Update button to generate a revised Search Results list
    • Click inside the Full Text checkbox in the Limit To menu and allow the automatic generation of a revised list

  • View an eBook from the Search Results list entries by clicking a PDF Full Text link
  • Navigate through the eBook text using the Table of Contents drop-down menu on the left side of the eBook text viewing window, along with directional arrows, a page number box and Zoom tools at the bottom of the viewing window

  • Permalink the eBook to access it again later:
    • Click the Permalink icon on the right side of the screen to open a Permalink box above the PDF Full Text viewing window for the eBook, then Copy the entire URL inside the Permalink box
    • Copy procedure: right click your mouse inside the box, choose Select All from the menu box, then right click again inside the box with the highlighted URL, and choose Copy from the menu box

  • Cite the article in your References or Bibliography page:
    • Click the Cite icon on the right of the PDF Full Text viewing window 
    • To open a Citation Format box
    • Choose your citation style, in this example AMA
    • Highlight and Copy the citation